Summer Institute

Support The Wooster Group!




The Summer Institute is a free, three-week performance workshop for teenagers in the public school system, founded by Wooster Group member Kate Valk and Ariana Smart Truman. The workshop is organized around a selected text and sessions with guest artists in many aspects of performance (ranging from movement to writing to voice training to video techniques). The program culminates in three public performances for supporters, friends, and family.

Schedule 2016

Monday, July 18 – 9:30am-2:30pm
Tuesday, July 19 – 9:30am-2:30pm
Wednesday, July 20 – 9:30am-2:30pm
Thursday, July 21 – 9:30am-2:30pm

Monday, July 25 – 9:30am-2:30pm
Tuesday, July 26 – 9:30am-2:30pm
Wednesday, July 27 – 9:30am-2:30pm
Thursday, July 28 – 9:30am-2:30pm

Monday, August 1 – 9:30am-2:30pm
Tuesday, August 2 – 9:30am-2:30pm
Wednesday, August 3 – 9:30am-2:30pm
Thursday, August 4 – 9:30am-2:30pm, with performance #1 at 3:00pm
Friday, August 5 – 2:00pm-7:00pm, with performance #2 at 7:00pm
Saturday, August 6 – 5:00pm-7:00pm, with performance #3 at 7:00pm

How To Apply

Applications for the 2016 Summer Institute closed on March 28, 2016. Please check back in February 2017 for information about applying to the 2017 Summer Insitute.

For more information, please contact the Summer Institute at:

email: si@thewoostergroup.org
mailing address:

The Wooster Group
Summer Institute
PO Box 654, Canal Street Station
New York, NY 10013

phone: 212-966-9796

Summer Institute Needs Your Support!

The Summer Institute is supported by the Edward T. Cone Foundation, New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, New York State Council on the Arts, The Norman & Bettina Roberts Foundation, and the donations of many generous individuals. We need your ongoing help in order to sustain this program. The Wooster Group is a not-for-profit 501(c)3 organization; your contributions are tax-deductible and greatly appreciated. Contribute on-line:

Give now - any amount makes a difference


M.S. 131 - Dr. Sun Yat Sen Middle School, New York City


Each school year Wooster Group members and associates, led by Kate Valk, work with a variety of classes (ESL, social studies, drama) to develop games and exercises that interface with class curriculum and culminate in a final performance or video project.

The Wooster Group’s in-school residency at M.S. 131 is supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.